Comments ‘Round the Web, September 5-10

In getting to know my new students, several of them wrote that a goal they have for the year is to “stop hating reading” and to “read for fun and not because [it’s] forced.” I wanted to cry.

I noted the books that each student listed and plopped them into a Shelfari, but I can’t bring myself to “assess” what boils down to compliance with a demand. I did bring up an idea that as a class or as a grade, I’d be happy to help them track the number of books we all read and see just how many books we can finish together in a year.

via Assessment: Formative, Summative, Punitive? « My Island View.

Leave a Reply

